Top Ten Tuesday: Bring on 2014!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the fine folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. They totally rock, so check them out!

This week’s topic? The top books I read in 2013. I read a lot of books (127) so I need to figure out which ones I liked the most, and why. This might take a while… As always, in no particular order.

Gone GirlShades of GreyThe Painted GirlsLife DisruptedWool

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – I totally jumped on the bandwagon by reading this one, but I am glad I did. I loved it. It was a twisty-turny mystery, and I am enjoying other reads by her as well.

Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde – A truly original and imaginative (though believable) dystopian society, reminiscent of The Giver. I loved this book, even though ever time I told someone I was reading it, I had to say “No, not 50 Shades of Gray

The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan – A Canadian author who took my breath away with her stunning historical fiction. I eagerly await more from Miss Buchanan and I think The Painted Girls will be a book I will re-read over and over again.

Life Disrupted by Laurie Edwards – A little more personal, and a non-fiction book to boot. My health has been horrible this year and this book has helped me deal. It is about being chronically ill in your 20’s and how that changes things. Because man, does it change things. I recommend this book to EVERYONE who is struggling with a chronic illness.

Wool, Omnibus Edition by Hugh Howey – Hands down the best dystopian I have read in a long time, and probably the best I will read in a long time. I have the second omnibus, and I am thinking it will be read soon.

Silver Metal LoverLooking for AlaskaJust One DayThe Girl Who CircumnavigatedLies of Locke Lamora

The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee – I normally hate romance stories, because they don’t read true to me. No one writes about the fights, or the stupid little things. But Tanith Lee did. And it is about a romance between a girl and a robot, which is both super odd and really cool.

Looking for Alaska by John Green – While I haven’t read everything by Mr. Green, I have read this and his arguably more popular The Fault In Our Stars. While TFiOS hit me on a “I am sick and I get this” level, I just loved Looking For Alaska more for some reason. It gave me a book hangover. I had to step back and re-evaluate things in my life. I didn’t even cry at the end of TFiOS.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman – OK, while I was reading this, part of me was like “Who goes to Paris with someone she doesn’t even KNOW?!”. And then the other part of my brain bludgeoned the first part with a bat and was taken along for an enjoyable ride. Something in the writing? I don’t even know. All I know is I am desperate to read Just One Year.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente – I kept trying to describe this book to people. It is hard. It is a kid’s book, but it isn’t. The prose is so achingly beautiful, I kept feeling like it would be lost on children. But then I thought maybe it was actually lost on adults.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – Want a snarky hero who is about to step in it? This is the book for you! I loved this book on many levels, from how certain everyone is that Locke is going to screw up in a monumental way to the cast of characters. It is quite a ride, and while it isn’t without some flaws, I heartily recommend it for the fantasy lover who doesn’t mind profanity.

So, what books did you read this year that you just LOVED? Comment below or link me to your top ten!

Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bring on 2014!

  1. I adore Locke’s terrible decisions and frantic plans so much! Wool was also a great series–you could really feel everything along with the characters, from the deep emotions to the burn of all those stairs…

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

