NetGalley Review: Doors by Daniel Brako

DoorsDoors by Daniel Brako
Read: August 16 – August 17, 2013
NetGalley selection.

Many thanks to Pan Macmillan for sending me this review copy via NetGalley!

Goodreads Book Blurb: David Druas is a successful psychologist, with a thriving practice. When he encounters Hans Werner, a client who sees imaginary doors, life takes a dark and unexpected turn.

After trying to unravel the delusion, David also notices mysterious doors. Scattered throughout the city, they lead to beautiful, terrifying and dangerous new worlds. But are they real?

When Hans Werner is murdered, the evidence identifies David as the killer. Forced to become a fugitive, he struggles to escape the deepening nightmare that threatens to overwhelm him.

As the police close in, it becomes apparent that the doors are concealing a dark and tangled truth. The question is: can David unlock their secrets before his time and sanity run out?

My Opinion: I am really glad this book was so short. We are greeted by the opening chapter reminding us no fewer than three times that the main character is a successful psychologist. Did I mention he is a psychologist? And by the way, he is a psychologist.

The first chapter was promising, with the action kicking off right away, but then things got really weird.

I think the biggest let down for me in Doors is that nothing is ever really explained. It is all just kind of glossed over in favor of action, which I didn’t find all that thrilling.

Unfortunately, the trend with story was also a trend with characters, and I didn’t like any of the characters in Doors.

This was a really short book, so I don’t have much to say.

Bottom Line: I honestly can’t think of any of the people I know who I would recommend this book to. If it sounds intriguing to you, go for it… it isn’t a very long read, so it isn’t a huge investment. But it didn’t do it for me.

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

