Top Ten Tuesday – July 30

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

This week’s top ten? Top Ten Perfect Beginnings or Endings.

This one will be a toughie for me, because I tend not to remember the specifics of books. Memory like a sieve. Or a goldfish. Or a goldfish sieve. What was I saying? BOOKS!

Five of the best beginnings:

Wrinkle in Timebook thiefHPReady Player One by Ernest Clineeotw

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Goodreads)
First Line: “It was a dark and stormy night.”

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Goodreads)
First Line: “First the colors.”

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (Goodreads)
First Line: “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Goodreads)
First Line: “Everyone my age remembers where they were and what they were doing when they first heard about the contest.”

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (Goodreads)
First Line: “The palace still shook occasionally as the earth rumbled in memory, groaned as if it would deny what had happened.”

 

Five of the best endings:

The Book of ParadoxFeedRebeccaEnder's GameGone Girl

The Book of Paradox by Louise Cooper (Goodreads)
Last Line: “Picking it up and turning it deftly, the Lord of the Underworld pulled away the remaining peel and began to eat.”

Feed by Mira Grant (Goodreads)
Last Line: “We stepped inside.”

Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier (Goodreads)
Last Line: “And the ashes blew towards us with the salt wind from the sea.”

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (Goodreads)
Last Line: “He looked a long time.”

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Goodreads)
Last Line: “I think I’ve earned that.”

 

So, what makes a beginning or ending great for you? What are some of the books you have read lately with the best beginnings or endings? Link me up to your TTT!

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – July 30

  1. Harry Potter, The Book Thief, and A Wrinkle in Time are all some of my very favorite beginnings. I love them all so much! Great list 🙂

    Halee @ Confessions of a Book Addict

    My TTT

  2. I really want to read Ready Player One! My friend has been constantly nagging about me reading the book. 🙂 Maybe this was the push I needed? Great list!

  3. Great picks! I especially love the Harry Potter and The Book Thief quotes. And you’ve added a ton of new books onto my to-read list thanks to the quotes you chose: A Wrinkle in Time, Ready Player One, Ender’s Game, and Gone Girl.

  4. I’ve seen HP on almost everyone’s best beginnings, including mine. It’s perfect. I also highlighted Rebecca, but for it’s opening line, although I love the closing line as well. I lvoe Rebecca cover to cover! The same goes for HP, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

