15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 6

15-Day-ChallengeThis awesome challenge is being hosted by April over at Good Books and Good Wine. It seems like a great challenge, so I thought I would check it out! I am going to post one of these every two or three days, interspersed with book reviews. Enjoy, and feel free to join in!

Day 6: Describe how you shop for books.

Ooh, this will be fun. I have a few different ways I shop for books. First thing you should know is that I don’t think I have ever bought books online for myself. I have done Christmas shopping that way, ordered a bunch of books and got free shipping. But for myself… I prefer to shop in person.

Sometimes I know exactly what I want. These times I will generally go into the local big box book store, which I hate, but it is handy. I am generally pretty good about being in and out in a timely fashion when I am searching for something specific. But I have one hard and fast rule when I visit the big box store… I always stop at the bargain section. You never know what you will find there, and ours is actually quite large.

Because I am on a limited budget due to health, I tend to be really picky about what books I buy brand new. They have to be books I will love forever. They have to be books I am dying to read, not just kind of sort of want to. Because books are expensive, and while they are awesome, I can’t afford them most of the time. I also very rarely buy brand new releases for this reason. Hardcovers make my wallet cry.

This brings me to the other way I shop for books. The local children’s hospital puts on a massive used book sale two or three times a year. Next one is in September. So stoked. At these, pretty much all bets are off. I take my list of owned books so I can make sure I don’t buy duplicates, and then I gorge. If something looks even remotely interesting and is under $3 (which most of it is), it comes home with me. Frequently I walk away from these sales with stacks of books, over 50. And it usually costs me under $75. I have found rare books, mint conditions of beloved series, odd books… it is the best thing. I spend a good few hours browsing the sale because it is horribly disorganized.

The other thing I love to do when I am feeling down and the book sale is not on… I use the library request system. It is like a shopping cart, and I feel like I am buying books, but I am not. Then I go pick them up, read my new babies, and take them back. Which usually works out well because I generally don’t get too attached to the books from the library.

How about you, how do you shop for books? Are you a one-click Amazoner? Or can you be found in the bowels of a used book store lovingly stroking spines?

2 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 6

  1. I have been known to make liberal use of Amazon but only when I know what I want. Also I contribute to another blog which pays me in Amazon vouchers = awesome!

    Most of the time I shop in charity shops (the local branches of Oxfam and Cancer Resarch UK being favourites) or second hand shops. The second hand shop near work is somewhere I lose hours so I try to avoid going too often but they frequently have a stall at the shopping centre where I get lunch and that lures me in and steals my money!

    • Oh man, I wish there were more easily accessible used book stores here. I have major issues with Chapters/Indigo (the main Canadian big-box bookstore) after they screwed me over with pricing on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. But they are the most accessible, so when I buy new they get most of my money still. Corporations. Aren’t they great?

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

