15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 4

15-Day-Challenge

This awesome challenge is being hosted by April over at Good Books and Good Wine. It seems like a great challenge, so I thought I would check it out! I am going to post one of these every two or three days, interspersed with book reviews. Enjoy, and feel free to join in!

Day 4: What’s the last book you flung across the room?

I don’t think I have ever actually flung a book across the room. I love and respect books too much. But the last book I WANTED to fling across the room?

Zombie FalloutAshfall

There are two. Zombie Fallout by Mark Tufo gets a spot because of misogyny and the phrase “…with precise precision.” Really? And then Ashfall by Mike Mullin was just bad on a lot of levels, from bad writing to plot holes.

How about you? Do you actually physically throw books around? What was the last one that frustrated you to that level?

3 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 4

  1. “Precise precision,” huh? Take heart, WP. I used to wonder why stuff like this could get published. I would think, ‘Are times really that bad that publishers will really take stuff like this?’ But now I sort of take it as a reason for me to know that I can do better than that. But seriously, it’s hard to believe stuff like that gets past the publishing front lines.

  2. I try very hard to focus on what I like about a book – even if I have reservations – especially if I’m trying to review it. But I think, so far, there’s been just one book that has made me want to tear it up: Oliver’s Story. The sequel to Eric Segal’s Love Story? I read the first one in eighth grade, and I picked this one up recently – just to see how Oliver was doing – and UGH. Just no.

  3. When I first read your post, I thought ahhh there are so many books that have frustrated me either with a cliched plot twist, poor grammar or a cliff hanger ending and no sequel. However, as I logged in to comment – I couldn’t remember a single title! I often think that it is the emotion I feel while reading that stays with me rather than the characters, plot or even the title!
    Does anyone else find that?

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

