Top Ten Tuesday – Two for One!

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

This week I will be covering two TTT topics, since I missed last week’s due to family stuff.

Last Week’s TTT: Top Ten Movie Adaptations

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
They missed a lot of good stuff, and I wasn’t overly fond of some of the creative choices (like having the actors not in robes at all times) but overall, I loved this adaptation.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins was a screenwriter before she was a novelist. Of course this one was going to be good!

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane
I read the book after I saw the movie. But that was OK because the book was essentially word-for-word the movie, which made me happy and a little annoyed that I was getting the same story.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
This is a rare movie that I thought was better than the book. I loved the book, but there are just some things that are conveyed much better visually than in writing.

Jurassic Park by Michael Chrichton
Shamelessly love both the book and the movie.

Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer
Content aside, they did a pretty good job of making these books into movies.

P.S. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern
Whoever got the bright idea to turn the saddest book ever into the saddest movie ever needs to get a high-five. In the face. With a chair. I love the story, but I bawl my eyes out every single time.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
The book and the movie are pretty drastically different, but both are awesome.

Red Dragon by Thomas Harris
It has been so long since I read this, but I know I love both the movie and the book. So it gets a spot.

Marley and Me by John Grogan
The message this movie sends about dog ownership aside… I love dog movies. And this one was well done.

The Wives of Bath by Susan Swan
The movie that is based on this book is called Lost and Delirious. And it is one of my favorites. So it gets spot 11.

I could list more. I thought this one was going to be tricky, but once I got thinking about all the movies based on books I have seen (and their books that I have read) I just flew through.

Top Ten Tuesday for July 16: Top Ten Authors Who Need More Credit

This may turn into “authors I didn’t know about because I live under a rock”. We will see.

Patrick Rothfuss
He is becoming better known now, but he is so amazingly talented, and he is also very kind and funny. Check out his blog if you don’t believe me.

Seanan McGuire/Mira Grant
This woman is all things awesome. She is a feminist, she strives for equality, and she does amazing research when it comes to her books. Not to mention her books are SUBLIME.

Cathy Marie Buchanan
A fairly new Canadian author, she has a talent for some of the most beautiful prose in historical fiction I have seen.

Louise Cooper
Another awesome author. You will have to find most of her books used, though.

Hugh Howey
He started as an independent, and is now published by one of the biggies. He keeps his books DRM free, and as low-priced as he can manage. And Wool is one of the best (if not the best) Dystopian ever. Yet his following is more cult than anything.

Jasper Fforde
Before my book club read Shades of Grey one month, I had never heard of this guy. WHY THE HECK NOT?!

Elizabeth Haydon
Another author I never heard of until I stumbled on her books. She isn’t mentioned in fantasy discussions, and that makes me sad.

Blake Charlton
Creator of one of the most innovative magic systems I have read about. Plus, he overcame dyslexia to write his novels, which is HUGE!

OK, I only have 8… because most of the authors I like are pretty well-known.

So, what do you think of either of these TTT topics? Leave a comment!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Two for One!

  1. I have been meaning to read Blake Charlton’s trilogy–I think what’s going to happen is I’m going to wait until the last volume comes out before just reading it straight xP

    Great list! Yay for Patrick Rothfuss; I have the second book of his waiting on my shelf to be read…his book reviews on GoodReads cracks me up xD

    My TTT

    • Thanks for the comment! I would recommend on both fronts waiting until all three books are out, because then you don’t have to wait FOREVER. Mr. Rothfuss does indeed write some of the best reviews ever. Especially of his own books! (Don’t believe me… look up his review for Doors of Stone, which is the third book in the series)

    • Thanks for the comment. Rothfuss writes some of the best fantasy I have read in a long time. I would definitely recommend his books. But I would also recommend waiting until they are all out, because I am kind of going insane waiting for book three…

  2. WP – love the list. I was unhappy with Hunger Games the movie – I thought the book was better, but not by much. If you want to know where she took (violently) the idea from, you should check out the book (and the movie, for that matter) Battle Royale (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_Royale). Wicked movie – much more violence and what not, but it shows where the idea came from. She says she had no idea, but please.
    Harry Potter series is just damn good. The movies were the best they could be to match the book, I thought. Yes, they did miss some things, but they could only get in so much – the limits of Hollywood, eh?
    Rothfuss is the man. Nice post.

    • Battle Royale is on my (absolutely massive) TBR pile. I think they had to tread a very fine line between staying true to the violence in the books and what they portray in the movie. Given that they came down on the side of caution (not something I necessarily agree with) I was OK with how the movie turned out 🙂 But that is just me.
      Harry Potter is phenomenal. As is Rothfuss.
      Thanks for stopping by!! Always nice to see your comments.

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

