Top Ten Tuesday: June 25

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

My work schedule is kind of wonky, and I have Sunday and Monday off… so I tend to forget that Tuesday is Tuesday and not Monday. I almost completely forgot about TTT this week! OOPS!

This week’s top ten? Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far)

I have read 74 books so far this year. I have only rated (according to Goodreads) 12 of them five stars. Ouch, that is not a good average, is it? As always, in no particular order…

Naked In DeathMr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreShades of GreyWoolLooking For Alaska

Naked In Death by J.D. Robb – Not a 5-star read for me, but the start of a new series, and damn enjoyable anyways.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan – I loved this book and devoured it quickly, despite the product placement.

Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde – Rich world building and a unique caste system made this one of my favorite dystopians.

Wool, Omnibus by Hugh Howey – Hands down one of (if not the singular) best dystopian book I have read.

Looking for Alaska by John Green – The first book in a long time that made me really think about how it affected me.

Lies of Locke LamoraThe Painted GirlsGone GirlWintergirlsParasite

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – OK, so I haven’t technically finished this one yet, but I am so close I may as well have. It is not without flaws, but it is very very good.

The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan – The best historical fiction I have read all year.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – A dark and twisted book about the dark and twisted places in the human mind. Again, not without flaws, but a book I just couldn’t put down once I got into it.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson – I haven’t officially reviewed this book yet, but oh my was it uncomfortable to read. But in a way that indicated a profound understanding of the subject matter, rather than a negative way.

Parasite by Mira Grant – Loved this book. Love Mira. Can’t wait until it is officially released so I can call it mine for real.

So what are the best books you have read so far this year?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: June 25

  1. I only had twelve 5-stars myself (out of more than 200 books)–though the stars have words attached–didn’t like, ok, liked, really liked, amazing–I think everyone defines those words differently.
    What makes a book amazing, after all? It can’t be that you liked it/ liked it a great deal, because that’s 3 or 4 stars respectively–you have to have loved it, to have obsessed over it, lived in its world, and kept a piece of it in your heart even after you finished it.
    Also, Mira Grant is coming out with another book? You are now one of my favorite people, as you have provided me with this fact. 🙂

  2. I haven’t had many 5 stars at all this year. Maybe I’m really stingy? Oh I hope not! Ha. I’ve had to add The Painted Girls to my TBR list. I love historical fiction. I’ve also got Parasite to read, so I’m excited to see it on your list this week 🙂

  3. Great list! I haven’t read any of these but I must get Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, Looking for Alaska, and Gone Girl. I’ve heard such good things about them 🙂

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

