WWW Wednesday – June 12

www_wednesdays4

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly book meme hosted over at Should Be Reading.

To play along, simply answer the following three questions:
– What are you currently reading?
– What did you just finish reading?
– What do you think you’ll read next?

Lies of Locke Lamora14Parasite

I am currently working on finishing up The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch for my book club’s second fantasy selection. I am just over halfway through, and it is a great read. Some interesting things have been brought up about female characters though, and I plan on addressing my thoughts on that in another blog post.

Last night, I finished reading 14 by Peter Clines, which I got from NetGalley. It was a very interesting and enjoyable read. Other recent reads include The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson and The Stepsister Scheme by Jim C. Hines. Overall, my book choices lately have been pretty good, and I haven’t had a book for a while that I really didn’t enjoy.

Normally I have an obscenely hard time figuring out what to read next. But not right now. I got Parasite by Mira Grant from NetGalley, and I just about peed myself I was so happy. Mira Grant is the horror alias of author Seanan McGuire and she is all things awesome. *bounces*

So, what is your WWW? Link me up and I promise to visit, or answer in the comments!

34 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – June 12

  1. Oooh Parasite sounds really interesting! And I read Name of the Star a while ago…I liked it, but some of her descriptions of London were questionable!

    • Never having been to London, I can’t comment on the descriptions. But I did find that so much of the book was dedicated to the boarding school aspect when it could have been something a little more… exciting? And of course, insta-love is something I generally don’t tolerate well. Even if it is just the insta-making-out form of insta-love. However, overall… it wasn’t bad.

      Parasite!! I AM SO EXCITED TO READ IT YOU HAVE NO IDEA! Mira Grant is such a phenomenal author, she really does her research. If you like zombie books, her Feed series is amazing. I haven’t read her October Daye series yet, but it is on the ever-growing TBR pile.

      • Ohhhhh I’ve definitely seen the Feed books around, I can picture the cover right now…wouldn’t have realised it’s the same author. I’ll have to put her on my list. (This blogging business is killing me with my TBR list too…seriously drowning in books I own but haven’t read yet and also like a million ‘need to add that one to the list’ lists- yes I have lists of lists). I’m thinking of becoming a hermit!

  2. Hmm, WP – interesting post, ‘WWW Wednesday’, eh? Well, I’ll tell you that I enjoy the idea of your first Wednesday post and I’m sure you’ll change up the enquiries each week. Here’s my info:
    1. What am I reading: I’m currently reading two books, The Walking Dead: Compendium 1 and Emerald City Dreamer, by Luna Lindsey. The first is turning out to be a pretty good story, although it’s taking me a stupid amount of time to get through it. I keep thinking, ‘why is this taking so long? It’s a freaking graphic novel!”, but c’est la vie. It’s just that there’s a lot of content, and I don’t watch the show, so I don’t really know the story.
    ECD is one by a local Seattle indie author who I’m in contact with and she had the book on E-reader format for the longest time and I told her I would buy a copy (because I wanted to, not out of pity) if she would turn it into paperback. The good thing about real paper is that you can get the author to sign. The bad thing is it kills trees and takes away my air…heavily reducing my ability to enjoy the author signature.

    What did I just finish? I just finished a book called Word Work, by Bruce Holland Rogers (on my Goodreads) and it’s a collection of essays for writers and a nice accompaniment for the writerly life.

    What do I plan on reading next: I’ll would like to read The Desert Spear, by Peter V. Brett, the 2nd book in his Warded Man series. The first book was intriguing enough for me to want to get into the 2nd, and that’s not usually the case for me. I also have to wait for series to be completed before I go on to subsequent books; this one, I’m happy to say, is complete.

    Here’s my web-site: http://www.lpstribling.wordpress.com
    I know you’ve been there many times and I’m so happy you come over to visit. I enjoyed this post. Now I’m off to read your rage on misogyny. Looking forward to it.

    • Thanks for sharing, LP! I read the first five Walkign Dead graphic novels a few months ago, and I really liked them. I am really looking forward to getting around to The Warded Man, too. I am still a die-hard paper book fan, even though I love my e-reader. The tactile experience is wonderful with a paper book.

  3. I am so jealous about Parasite! That is awesome!! I just finished Deadline and am going to read Blackout in the next couple of weeks – love them!! Can’t wait to read your review you lucky thing you! Someone else is reading Lies and I have it on my shelf, I should really pick that sucker up… Enjoy your books πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by! I love Mira Grant, she is just so awesome. She did so amazing in her research for the Feed series, so I am just so anxious to see her brilliance at work in Parasite. Lies is really good so far, I can’t wait to see where it is going because everything is just kind of weaving together and tying up into a nice noose.

  4. Thanks for stopping by book view cafe! i started lies of locke lamora a couple of years ago and dnf. thing is, i didn’t decide it was a dnf. for some reason i never finished it, and then going back to it seemed a bigger issue than not. start over reading from the beginning? start where i ended and hope i remembered stuff as i went along? decisions, decisions

    but so many people love it–i ought to give it another shot.

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

