Top Ten Tuesday – May 28

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

This week’s top ten is a freebie, and while I have seen a lot of really great subjects I don’t know what I want to do. I toyed with a few ideas… but I think I finally settled on one: Ten Dirty-Little-Secret Books!

So these are the books I really want to read, but am pretty embarrassed to admit that I want to read. So while I sit here in my comfy chair and radiate a lovely blush, enjoy my list!

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
OK, mostly I want to read this one so I can snark it in an educated manner. But I also want to read it so I can say I have read it. I anticipate it will be bad, and I will probably never forgive myself if I actually enjoy it, but there you have it.

Modelland by Tyra Banks
For a long time, I was very much an ANTM junkie, and I would watch it every week. So when I found out that Tyra had written a book (and when I saw the corresponding photo shoot) I really wanted to read it. Again, knowing full well it will probably be horrid… I still have to!

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein
OK, this one isn’t a dirty-little-secret in the same way as the others. I wouldn’t be embarrassed to be seen on the bus with this book, nor would I be ashamed to have it displayed on a shelf in my home. I am more embarrassed that I haven’t read it yet. Add to the fact that it is still over-hyped and I will be accused of only reading it because of the movies, and it is a deep dark secret.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
I have read this one, but it always makes me cringe to be seen reading it in public. I feel judged in that moment, and it makes me sad that people will never understand the scope of fiction I read.

The Selection by Kiera Cass
I have heard so much badness about this author and the work… I want to read it to see for myself. Does that make me a bad person?

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Another one that I have read, though this one I love to pieces. I feel like I am betraying one of my favorite series by being glad I can read it on my Sony now, instead of in book form when I am in public. Again, I can’t get away from the people who think an almost-3o year old should be reading something other than Harry Potter.

Bossypants by Tina Fey
This is a common enough book to see on my commute, but I have always prided myself in being “apart” from the celebrity hype. I don’t even really like Tina Fey (OK, that isn’t entirely fair, I don’t watch much of her comedy) so why do I want to read her book? I don’t get it.

The In Death series by J.D. Robb
OK, I love these, but they are totally a guilty pleasure. If I had them in physical form, I would totally buy book covers for them, because I don’t want to be judged for my love of Roarke and Dallas. (But they are so awesome!)

Any Bestseller
I like reading books for different reasons. Sometimes I am in the mood for something obscure, and sometimes I am not. And when I am not in the mood for something obscure, I feel like I have a target painted on me for reading a popular book. Hey, some of them are pretty good!

Holocaust Books
There is nothing wrong with reading about history, in my opinion. In fact, it is really important. But I feel somewhat uncomfortable at the idea of reading Mein Kampf on the bus.

So there you have it. Do you have any books you are ashamed to read? Or do you just go all out and let the world take you as it will?