Top Ten Tuesday – May 14

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

This week’s top ten is ten books that deal with a difficult subject.

This one might be just as hard for me to do as last week’s. I read a lot of drama, but I don’t read much that deals with what most people deem difficult subjects. But, here are my ten in no particular order:

Marley and Me by John Grogan – OK, this book has a lot of lightness in it, and nothing completely horrible happens, except (minor spoiler alert) the dog dies of old age. But, as a dog owner and lover, this is a horrible thing for me to read about. My own dog is into the old age years, and thinking about losing him is one of the hardest things for me to face.

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – Cancer, being the “normal” sibling, and the burdens that brings… this book weighed heavy on me when I read it.

Night by Elie Wiesel – Anything about the Holocaust is difficult and uncomfortable for me to read. The fact that humans are capable of such horrors… and that it isn’t fiction. It always hurts my heart.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I am currently in the last 100 pages of this book, but I find it horrifying and difficult in a similar way to Night. This really happened. People really were this horrible.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – This book is far from perfect, as I found some of the “reasons” dealt with vengeance rather than true reasoning, but I was still emotionally drained after reading about the girl who took her own life, and the reasons she did it.

Dance With The Devil: A Memoir of Murder and Loss by David Bagby – This is a non-fiction book, tied into the documentary “Dear Zachary” (which is horrendously heart wrenching, and I recommend it). It is about murder, suicide, and the failure of the Canadian justice system.

Inside the Jihad by Omar Nasiri – I feel like this non-fiction book about a man’s descent and rise from Al Qaeda should probably be taken with a grain of salt, but it doesn’t make it any less unsettling.

*EDIT: I can’t believe I forgot this one!*
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini Dealing with some heavy issues and laid over a backdrop of Afghanistan, this book was so intense.

OK, so I only have seven eight that I have actually read. So here are a few that I want to read.

A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer
Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Crank by Ellen Hopkins
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I am sure there are tons of books I want to read in the “darker” category. It isn’t that I like the dark subjects, it is just that I don’t shy away from them.

So how about you? What books have you read that are darker? Which ones do you want to read? Or do you stay clear of tough subjects completely?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – May 14

  1. I don’t mind “issue” novels, but I tend to shy away from the really, really dark stuff. I have read most of the books on your list and while they’re probably on the lighter side of this genre, they still deal with really difficult stuff. And they do it well 🙂

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  2. Oof, I forgot about Night. Read that in high school, incredibly tough stuff. Well-written too. I’ve avoided Marley and Me like the plague; anytime there’s a dog I’m terrified it’s going to die at the end, and I just can’t handle it. 🙂

    Here’s my TTT for the week. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

