Library Haul – January 12

So, I have this habit.

Some people, when they are down, they shop. Being a lower-income person, I recognize that shopping is not a healthy habit to engage in when I don’t, you know, actually have money to spend. So when I am having a down or an off day, I will cruise the library website and request library books.

This is an awesome compromise, because I add things to what is effectively a “shopping cart”, and I know I will get them (rather than adding them to a shopping cart and then removing them)… and they are free. And they are books. It really is a win/win.

Until all of those requests come available at the same time. Then we have a little problem.

Library Haul 1

See… then I come home with fifteen books, and three weeks to read them.

Oops.

The books are (in no particular order):

Mr. Monster by Dan Wells
I Don’t Want To Kill You by Dan Wells
The Hollow City by Dan Wells
Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey
Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
Infected by Scott Sigler
Rampant by Diana Peterfreund
The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Wide Open by Deborah Coates
Briar Rose by Jane Yolen
Castle In The Air by Diana Wynne Jones
House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones
Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr
Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Season 8, Volume 1 by Joss Whedon
Phoenix Rising by Philippa Ballantine

I am really excited to read these… but good lord… who let me request so many?!

3 thoughts on “Library Haul – January 12

  1. I do that, too. The library lets me hold up to 25 books… a number I’m not properly responsible with.
    Times like those, I look at the list and sort into ‘can renew’ and ‘can’t renew’ piles, and do my best. 🙂

    • Welcome to the blog, and thanks for the comment!
      I have already determined that, at this point, two cannot be renewed. Days of Blood and Starlight and Perks of Being a Walflower both have requests on them, so they will be the first ones I read. Buffy is a graphic novel, so it will be no issue whatsoever. And then… I will just kind of wing it with the rest. I definitely see some renewals happening, though. I just don’t read that fast.

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

