Review: I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella (Spoiler Free)

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
Read:  September 8 – September 10, 2012
Format: E-book (library), 289 pages

Publisher: Random House, 2012

Personal read.

Book Blurb: Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!
 
Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.
 
What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

My Opinion: I have never really been one to read much chick-lit. Even on lazy, hot summer days, give me a big fat fantasy book and I am happy as a clam. But I have dabbled, and I decided to dabble some more. I waited out the 70-some-odd person waiting list to get I’ve Got Your Number in e-book format from the library. The paper copy had over 100 requests. It took me a while to figure out why, but then I realized that Sophie Kinsella is of Shopaholic fame. Of course her new book would be highly coveted.

I decided to wait it out, because as I said I am not a chick-lit reader and I didn’t know if I would enjoy I’ve Got Your Number enough to warrant buying it right away. Well I did enjoy it, but I am also glad I waited. I’ve Got Your Number, while a fun romp that reminded me why I like to dabble in chick-lit every now and then, definitely had its flaws.

Poppy is an enjoyable enough character for the first half of the book or so.There were times when I had to put the book down for a minute or two because I was so mortified for her. Everything kept going very poorly for her. But, nothing can go poorly forever, can it? Apparently it can, and Poppy doesn’t get anything right for almost the entirety of the book. It is endearing, it is embarrassing, and then it is downright annoying. Cut the poor girl some slack, she needs to get something right at some point! I do like that she had some growth as a character, though. By the end of the book, Poppy is quite different from the girl we meet at the start, and it is rare to see that in books these days, nevermind chick-lit.

The plot of I’ve Got Your Number had some odd bits to it. I don’t know any company executive who would be OK with the situation that happened with Poppy and Sam. I can’t think of anyone who, in Sam’s shoes, would have allowed Poppy to keep the phone. But I guess that is why this is a work of fiction. The last half of the book is odd, and I didn’t see it coming really. But the romantic side of it was visible from the start. My husband asked what I was reading and I summed it up in two sentences. One was a summary of the plot so far and one was a prediction of what was going to happen. The prediction was dead on, though I will admit not for reasons I thought.

The footnotes. I think if they had been at the bottom of every page, they wouldn’t have irked me so much. They gave I’ve Got Your Number a lot of its humor, and they added to the conversational tone of the writing. However, I was very tired of having to hop back and forth between footnotes and main story, especially when there were 3 or 4 footnotes on one page, and they all sent me to the end of the chapter. Thank goodness it was fairly easy on the e-reader. If I had been reading a paper copy of the book, I would not have been amused.

Bottom Line: I enjoyed this book enough to want to look at some of Sophie Kinsella’s other works. It was a fast and fun read that reminded me why I like light literature like chick-lit every so often.

(Image and book blurb courtesy of http://www.goodreads.com)

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

