Camp NaNoWriMo – The Home Stretch!

So with the rolling over of the clock from August 25 to August 26, I am officially in my last week of NaNo.

I mean, technically you could say I have been in the last week for a few days now, since the one week mark was Friday, but there is something concrete about seeing the end on the same line of the calendar as your current day that makes it that much more… final.

I hit 40,000 words today! I still haven’t figured out what my 25,000 word reward will be, or my 50,000 word reward. Maybe sushi for lunch for 25,000 words, and then buying a movie I have been really wanting to watch for 50,000? (Avatar, in case you are curious…)

I am actually going to do this. I am going to finish this Camp NaNoWriMo, and at the end I will have 50,000 words of story. OK, so it will be 50,000 words of story, a good 25,000 of which will probably meet the machete of editing when I get there. But this is HUGE for me. It is a HUGE obstacle to overcome the need to write perfectly the first time and to just… write.

And damn. It feels good.

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo – The Home Stretch!

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

