Currently Reading: Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

So, one of the books I am currently reading (in a mad dash to get it back to the library on time) is Boneshaker by Cherie Priest.

I am enjoying it. I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it. Something about the writing isn’t pulling me right into the story. But the story is so damned interesting, and the characters are so likeable that I am keeping at it. I am just shy of halfway through, and if you click the jump, I will share some of my predictions with you.

– Leviticus is still alive.
– Briar is definitely privy to more than she is letting on about the whole Boneshaker incident.
– There is something Very Important about the blight gas. I think it can be cured. Or used for good. Or something.
– Maybe they will use the blight gas to swing the war. This IS alternate history.
– Did the Russians actually pay Leviticus to do exactly what he did? I kind of think so.
– Maynard is still alive. I know, I know, she buried him. But he’s gotta be around somewhere.

If you’ve read this book, don’t spoiler it for me. But did you like it??

5 thoughts on “Currently Reading: Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

  1. If the story is interesting and the characters are likable, I’m very curious what it is about the writing that is turning you off of the book.

    -Elia

    • Elia,
      That is an excellent question, and I should have explained it better in my post. The writing style, to me, is very choppy. It isn’t the worst I have encountered, but it could be smoother.

      Also, because it is a steampunk novel, it is treading into the realm of classic literature in terms of level of description and type of language… but it does so inconsistently. At times it doesn’t quite commit, and at others it over-commits. I love steampunk for its blend of old meets new in a classic style (and come on, steampunk, alternate history, AND zombies? SO MUCH WIN) but there is a fine line, for me anyways, between too much of the classic style language and not enough.

      I was trying to find some non-spoilered passages for examples, but I am having a really hard time (with the non-spoilered part, not finding examples).

      Again, these are all just my opinions.

      Thanks for commenting!!
      – WP (Erin)

      • It made me think of Dracula. I’m about half way through, but my coauthor recently finished it and it writing a review. The writing style is very different from what I’m used to reading as it is comprised entirely of letters. It’s incredibly slow, but it’s one of the few times we aren’t guaranteed that the narrator makes it to the end of the book. I have a love-hate relationship with the writing style; I’m not sure about Ermisenda.

        I also feel like I should know this, and Googling it would get me a faster answer, but since you seem well versed on the topic I’d rather ask you. What is steampunk exactly, other than the obvious “a genre.” What defines that genre? I’ve had a couple books come up with that label that I passed on and now I’m curious.

    • I can’t reply to your reply, it seems, so I will reply to your original comment.

      Steampunk is actually a subgenre of the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre. I hate when people lump those two together, personally, but steampunk can be either Science Fiction or Fantasy. Usually (not all the time) it is set in a dystopian or alternative history world. Most often, it centres on an alternate Victorian era, though that isn’t a “rule” or anything.

      The biggest staple of a Steampunk book is that everything in it relies on steam. Especially in the Victorian-era-centric varieties, there is a focus on technology as it may have been adapted by people of the time had things like the internal combustion engine and refrigerators never come into being. Those are just two examples of what technology steampunk books don’t have. There is almost always a focus on science and fashion in a steampunk book.

      Jules Verne and H.G. Wells are sort of the granddaddies of the genre, but it is definitely becoming more prominent these days in all forms of media.

      Hope that helps!
      -WP (Erin)

      • Oh I have The Invisible Man and The Time Machine (I think both are by Wells). I just need to sit down and actually read them. Reading all of the B&N Classics is on my Bucket List. I agree, Sci-Fi and Fantasy really shouldn’t be lumped together and it surprises me how many people mix them up. Forbidden Mind and The Hunger Games are both shelved on Goodreads in both genres, even though I consider both sci-fi. Same with Paranormal vs. Fantasy.

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)

