Top Ten Tuesday – June 18

toptentuesday

It’s that time again! Top Ten Tuesday!
(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. You should totally check them out!)

This week’s top ten? My Top Ten TBR Summer Reading List

Finally! One that won’t be hard! OK, it will be hard in the sense of having to narrow it down to JUST ten books, because I want to read ALL THE BOOKS EVER. I don’t know if this is supposed to be new releases or what, but mine will be a mix, because I don’t have the funds to support a new-release-heavy reading habit. Unfortunately. I think this list will serve as a goal of sorts. I will read these 10 11 books by summer’s end, so help me! Even better, I already own them all, so it means no trips to the library or the book store.

Without further ramblings, and as always in no particular order… My list!

Written In Red Garden Spells The Shadow of the Wind  The Eyre Affair Crossroads of Twilight

 

 

 

 

Written In Red by Anne Bishop (Goodreads) – This sounds SO GOOD!
Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen (Goodreads) – I loved The Sugar Queen (review), so I would like to read something else by Sarah Addison Allen.
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Goodreads) – Mystery about books? Count me in!
The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (Goodreads) – My book club read Shades of Grey (review) by Mr. Fforde earlier this year, and I LOVED his writing style.
Crossroads of Twilight by Robert Jordan (Goodreads) – I have been meaning to finish this series for a long time. This is book 10 in the series, so avoid the Goodreads page if you haven’t read the others.

Graceling World War Z Game of Thrones Drums of Autumn A Great and Terrible Beauty

 

 

 

 

 

Graceling by Kristin Cashore (Goodreads) – I have owned this book for forever and keep meaning to read it, but it keeps getting pushed aside. Not this summer!
World War Z by Max Brooks (Goodreads) – My husband and I are planning on seeing this in theaters, so I need to get it read and soon. But I love zombie books, so it is OK.
A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (Goodreads) – I would like to see what all the hype is about.
Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon (Goodreads) – Another series I need to finish. This is book four, so stay away from the Goodreads page if you haven’t read any of the others. They tend to be extra spoiler-y.
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (Goodreads) – I bought this at the last used book sale and I really would like to read it. I have heard many good things.

Bonus: This one doesn’t have a cover on its Goodreads page, but I found it years ago at a used book sale. And I really want to read it. So this summer I will. The book?
Thorn: An Immortal Tale by Frances Gordon

So what do you plan on reading this summer? Share in the comments, or link me to your TTT post! I promise to visit.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – June 18

  1. You know, I have Garden Spells still in the middle of my TBR Pile. I thought I would have read it by now. I also have the Shadow of the Wind and most of the Game of Thrones books. Great reminder post for me to go find those books and move them forward. Great list.

  2. Ooh, I love, love, LOVED Shadow of the Wind, The Eyre Affair, Graceling, A Game of Thrones and A Great and Terrible Beauty!!! You have all these amazing stories ahead of you waiting to be discovered!
    One tiny heads up (if you hadn’t heard before): don’t get attached to ANYONE in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, because people tend to die. A lot. Brutally. Happy reading 😉

    • Oh I have been warned time and time again about Martin’s tendency to kill off all the favorites. It is part of why I want to read it so bad. I like the idea of no one being safe just because they are a main character or they are well-liked. I am soooo excited for the summer now.

  3. Written in Red was great. Do NOT read it near bed time, though, you’ll lose out on sleep like I did. World War Z was also wonderful, but the sections made it easier to put down for things like eating and sleeping.
    I’m kind of scared of everything I hear about George R.R. Martin. I don’t know that I’ll ever read his books, no matter how popular they get.

    • Now, will I lose sleep because of creepiness or because I will want to finish? because I frequently decide that finishing a book is more important than being mentally present the next day. 🙂

      • You’ll definitely want to finish. It’s one of those books that sweeps you along, and just as something wraps up, something new happens. I can’t wait for the next book!

Leave a Reply! (Please note, first time commenters must be approved)